The Forsyth County Commissioners, City Council of Winston-Salem, and WS/FCS Board of Education signed a resolution during 2021 in support of forming an Early Childhood Education Task Force as a planning and recommendatory body to assist in creating a proposal for the implementation of an equitable, accessible, high-quality Pre-K system that can serve all children in Forsyth County. Ultimately, Task Force recommendations resulted in approximately $4M of ARPA funding from local government.



Commitment to Families, Children, and the Community

We commit to working to develop affordable, high-quality Pre-K experiences that are inclusive, joyful, create a love of learning, and build positive identity.

We commit to eliminating disparities and achieving equity by providing all children with the resources they need to be ready to succeed in school.

We commit to supporting programs that are culturally responsive and celebrate home languages, cultures, and traditions.

We commit to ensuring access to high-quality programs that are in accord with the values and needs of each family.

We commit to incorporating the knowledge and lived experience of parents as experts on their children and communities into Pre-K programs, processes, and systems.

We commit to going beyond what’s been done in the past by adopting new, creative, and effective ideas to enable us to achieve our vision of a community in which all children are able to succeed in school and in life.


Don Martin
Task Force Chair
Vice Chair, Forsyth County Board of Commissioners
Tricia McManus
Task Force Vice Chair
Superintendent, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools

Early childhood education

Claudia Barrett
Executive Director, Imprints Cares
Sabrina Hinton
Owner, Operator, North Point & TLC Learning Academies
Louis Finney Jr.
Chief Executive Officer, Smart Start Forsyth County
Dean Clifford
Principal, Clifford Consulting

Winston-Salem Forsyth County Schools

Nicollete Grant
Chief Academic Officer,
WS/FC Schools
Malishai Woodbury
Chair Board of Education,
WS/FC Schools

Higher education

Cassandra El-Amin
Professor Emerita, Winston-Salem State University
Kim Pemberton
Interim Chair of Education, Winston-Salem State University
Stephanie Lackey
Program Coordinator of Early Childhood Education, Forsyth Technical Community College


Yara Flores
Parent of Child Enrolled in Pre-K
Quamekia Shavers
Parent of Child Enrolled in Pre-K
Kristy Hairston
Parent of Child Enrolled in Pre-K


Don Flow
Chairman & CEO, Flow Automotive Companies
Mark Owens
President & CEO, Greater Winston-Salem, Inc.


Paul Robeson Ford
Board Chair, Action4Equity
Chuck Spong
Executive Director, Love Out Loud


Kathy Peopling
Professor of Pediatrics, Director of Pediatric Population Health, Wake Forest Baptist Health & WF School of Medicine
Chad Setliff
Senior Vice President, President & COO, Novant Health Forsyth Medical Center

Community Organizations

Nigel Alston
Executive Director, North Carolina Black Repertory Company
Derwin Montgomery
Owner, Operator, North Point &
TLC Learning Academies
Regina Hall
Executive Director, Boston-Thurmond United
Kellie Easton
Executive Director, Action4Equity
Iris Cole
Board President, Hispanic League
Odette Sanchez
Executive Director, Latino Community Services


Barbara Burke
Council Member, City of Winston-Salem
Ronda Tatum
Deputy County Manager (Retired), Forsyth County

human services

Bob Feikema
President & CEO, Family Services
Debbie Wilson
Chief Impact Officer, United Way of Forsyth County